Transvaal v Western Province
Currie Cup 1951/52 (Section A)
VenueEllis Park, Johannesburg on 1st, 3rd, 4th December 1951 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossTransvaal won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWestern Province won by 5 wickets
PointsTransvaal 0; Western Province 6
UmpiresD Blanckenberg, WN Eksteen
Close of play day 1Western Province (1) 66/4 (Cheetham 25*, Marshall 4*)
Close of play day 2Western Province (2) 58/2 (Innes 26*, Cheetham 21*)

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Wardc Innes b Fuller24     
SR Kimberc Foreman b Bolus18     
*JR Ellisc Innes b Fuller2     
C Tayfieldc Innes b Thwaits7     
AD Pinkertonc Delport b Thwaits21     
+WR Endeanc Marshall b Bolus38     
PL Winslowrun out15     
A Tayfieldb Fuller1     
MG Melleb Delport26     
DEJ Ironsideb Delport0     
PG Needhamnot out0     
Total(all out, 47.6 overs)156
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-34, 3-45, 4-68, 5-88, 6-113, 7-119, 8-154, 9-154, 10-156 (47.6 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Fuller14   2473--
Thwaits18   4542--
Delport3   182--

Western Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KT Comminsc Winslow b Melle4     
JD Nelb Melle2     
GAS Inneslbw b C Tayfield22  4- 
*JE Cheethamc Winslow b Melle33     
DJ Foremanc A Tayfield b C Tayfield1     
AW Marshallb Melle13     
+JH Ferrandic Endean b Ironside14     
ERH Fullerc Winslow b C Tayfield11     
GRM Bolusb C Tayfield1     
SA Thwaitsnot out3     
RF Delportnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 4 nb)9
Total(9 wickets, declared, 48 overs)113
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-15, 3-44, 4-51, 5-83, 6-84, 7-101, 8-109, 9-113
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Melle22   7534--
Ironside10   4241--
C Tayfield16   6274--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Wardc Thwaits b Fuller18     
SR Kimberrun out4     
*JR Ellisc Foreman b Fuller29     
C Tayfieldc Thwaits b Fuller0     
AD Pinkertonc Fuller b Thwaits5     
+WR Endeannot out11     
PL Winslowc and b Fuller6     
A Tayfieldc Ferrandi b Fuller6     
MG Melleb Fuller0     
DEJ Ironsidec Ferrandi b Fuller6     
PG Needhamdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 nb, 1 w)3
Total(9 wickets, declared, 35.4 overs)88
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-54, 3-54, 4-55, 5-63, 6-72, 7-82, 8-82, 9-88 (35.4 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bolus6   2110--
Thwaits13   5201--

Western Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KT Comminsb Ironside6     
JD Nelc Kimber b C Tayfield5     
GAS Innesrun out43     
*JE Cheethamlbw b C Tayfield58     
DJ Foremannot out0     
AW Marshallnot out15     
+JH Ferrandilbw b A Tayfield4     
ERH Fullerdid not bat      
GRM Bolusdid not bat      
SA Thwaitsdid not bat      
RF Delportdid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, 63.2 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-11, 3-92, 4-119, 5-130
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Melle12   4300--
Ironside15   6301--
C Tayfield15.24312--
A Tayfield17   3311--
Pinkerton1   030--
Needham3   060--

--> KT Commins made his debut in First-Class matches
--> DJ Foreman made his debut in First-Class matches
--> JR Ellis made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> JH Ward (1) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 21
--> JH Ferrandi (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in First-Class matches
--> GAS Innes (2) passed his previous highest score of 39 in First-Class matches
--> ERH Fuller achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Transvaal first innings (previous best was 2-35)
--> C Tayfield achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Western Province first innings (previous best was 4-58)
--> MG Melle reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Western Province first innings
--> ERH Fuller achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Transvaal second innings (previous best was 3-47)
--> ERH Fuller achieved his first five wickets in an innings in First-Class matches in the Transvaal second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive