Griqualand West v North Eastern Transvaal
Currie Cup 1958/59 (Section B)
VenueDe Beers Stadium, Kimberley on 12th, 13th, 15th December 1958 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGriqualand West won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGriqualand West won by 192 runs
PointsGriqualand West 6; North Eastern Transvaal 0
UmpiresLCP Oates, B Rosen
Close of play day 1North Eastern Transvaal (1) 116/8 (McNaughton 26*, Botten 15*)
Close of play day 2North Eastern Transvaal (2) 53/2 (Richardson 10*, Corbett 12*)

Griqualand West first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RL Gloakb Botten0     
GJ Urenc Lance b Botten6     
C Tayfieldlbw b Middlewick7     
BA Goblec Middlewick b Farham20     
EJ Draperb Lance76     
BW Burrowc Corbett b Botten8     
+RA Scurrb Botten0     
IJ Craigenc Powell b Botten3     
RG Phillipsc Lindsay b Middlewick17     
*JE Waddingtonnot out30     
CR Englishc and b Middlewick1     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 6 nb)13
Total(all out, 64 overs)181
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-6, 3-24, 4-54, 5-54, 6-55, 7-74, 8-84, 9-177, 10-181 (64 ov)
North Eastern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Botten25   7615--
Middlewick17   7343--
Farham7   1391--
Smidt10   3220--
Lance5   3121--

North Eastern Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SB Spiesb English7     
JC Farhamrun out0     
JA Corbettc and b Tayfield16     
RA Richardsonc Burrow b English10     
HR Lanceb English17     
+DT Lindsayc Scurr b Tayfield11     
G McNaughtonc Gloak b Waddington32     
KA Powellb English6     
JF Smidtc sub b Tayfield2     
JT Bottenb English16     
GV Middlewicknot out0     
Extras(5 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(all out, 54.3 overs)125
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-13, 3-27, 4-48, 5-49, 6-68, 7-78, 8-83, 9-123, 10-125 (54.3 ov)
Griqualand West bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Phillips11   3280--
Burrow6   440--
Tayfield14   5263--
Waddington4   181--

Griqualand West second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RL Gloakb Middlewick4     
GJ Urenc Lindsay b Lance28     
C Tayfieldc Lance b Botten50     
EJ Draperc Lindsay b Lance0     
BA Goblec Richardson b Middlewick33     
BW Burrowc Richardson b Farham34     
+RA Scurrc Corbett b Botten2     
IJ Craigenc Lindsay b Lance8     
*JE Waddingtonlbw b Middlewick7     
RG Phillipsnot out44     
CR Englishc Richardson b Middlewick32     
Extras(3 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 81.3 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-39, 3-39, 4-118, 5-119, 6-130, 7-165, 8-169, 9-210, 10-249 (81.3 ov)
North Eastern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Botten28   6892--
Farham4   291--
Smidt15   4410--
Lance10   2253--
Spies1   020--
Corbett1   0100--

North Eastern Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JC Farhamlbw b Waddington24     
G McNaughtonc Draper b English2     
RA Richardsonb English17     
JA Corbettlbw b English19     
+DT Lindsayc Draper b Waddington0     
HR Lanceb English0     
*SB Spieslbw b English1     
KA Powellb English7     
JF Smidtc and b Waddington27     
JT Bottenc Uren b English4     
GV Middlewicknot out2     
Extras(7 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 48.3 overs)113
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-39, 3-66, 4-67, 5-68, 6-69, 7-74, 8-88, 9-109, 10-113 (48.3 ov)
Griqualand West bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Phillips5   0140--
Tayfield5   160--
Waddington18   6383--
Draper2   110--

--> GJ Uren made his debut in First-Class matches
--> RA Richardson made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> RG Phillips (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in First-Class matches
--> BW Burrow (2) passed his previous highest score of 32 in First-Class matches
--> RG Phillips (2) passed his previous highest score of 17 in First-Class matches
--> CR English (2) equalled his previous highest score of 32 in First-Class matches
--> JF Smidt (2) passed his previous highest score of 23 in First-Class matches
--> JT Botten achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Griqualand West first innings (previous best was 5-97)
--> HR Lance achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Griqualand West second innings (previous best was 2-12)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive