Western Province v Transvaal
Currie Cup 1959/60 (Section A)
VenueNewlands, Cape Town on 1st, 2nd, 4th January 1960 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossTransvaal won the toss and decided to bat
ResultTransvaal won by 79 runs
PointsWestern Province 0; Transvaal 6
UmpiresVJ Costello, JE Warner
Close of play day 1Western Province (1) 8/0 (Westcott ?*, Innes ?*)
Close of play day 2Transvaal (2) 96/3 (Kinsley 18*)

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AI Taylorc Richardson b Bromfield29     
WR Endeanb Drummer0     
+JHB Waitec Richardson b Maile24     
PH Kinsleyc Richardson b Bromfield2     
WE Patrickc and b Bromfield10     
S O'Linnc Ferrandi b Maile83     
JP Fellows-Smithc Heldsinger b Maile87     
WD Wallersb Bromfield6     
HJ Tayfieldb Maile20     
KA Walternot out7     
S Stanleyb Bromfield6     
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)7
Total(all out, 126.2 overs)281
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-45, 3-55, 4-57, 5-83, 6-210, 7-227, 8-268, 9-269, 10-281 (126.2 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Drummer16   4501--
Lear11   5310--
Maile39   8914--
van der Merwe15   3330--

Western Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RJ Westcottc Tayfield b Fellows-Smith38     
*GAS Innesc Waite b Stanley14     
PL van der Merwec Taylor b Stanley0     
MHH Richardsonb Stanley25     
JBR Mailec Walter b Tayfield17     
+JH Ferrandic Taylor b Stanley67     
KMS Heldsingerc Fellows-Smith b Tayfield63     
F Bingc Wallers b Tayfield21     
PN Learb Tayfield45     
FTM Drummerc Waite b Stanley4     
HD Bromfieldnot out5     
Extras(6 b, 3 lb, 4 nb)13
Total(all out, 131.1 overs)312
Fall of wickets:
1-35, 2-35, 3-63, 4-85, 5-118, 6-223, 7-233, 8-298, 9-303, 10-312 (131.1 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walter15   5300--
Fellows-Smith15   6231--
Tayfield57   221254--
Taylor7   290--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WR Endeanc Richardson b Maile15     
*AI Taylorc Innes b Maile39     
+JHB Waiteb Innes17     
PH Kinsleyb Maile57     
S O'Linnc Bromfield b Maile17     
WE Patrickc Maile b Bromfield7     
JP Fellows-Smithnot out35     
WD Wallersb Maile1     
HJ Tayfieldb Drummer36     
KA Walterdid not bat      
S Stanleydid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 7 lb)17
Total(8 wickets, declared, 70.2 overs)241
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-65, 3-96, 4-136, 5-155, 6-165, 7-166, 8-241 (70.2 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lear6   1230--
Maile31   51065--
Bromfield25   6621--
van der Merwe4   0210--
Innes1   101--

Western Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RJ Westcottb Taylor45     
*GAS Innesc Patrick b Stanley24     
+JH Ferrandist Waite b Stanley1     
MHH Richardsonc Waite b Stanley0     
KMS Heldsingerlbw b Stanley7     
PL van der Merwelbw b Tayfield26     
JBR Mailec Walter b Stanley10     
F Bingb Tayfield1     
PN Learnot out10     
FTM Drummerlbw b Tayfield6     
HD Bromfieldb Tayfield0     
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 71.5 overs)131
Fall of wickets:
1-49, 2-56, 3-56, 4-68, 5-88, 6-103, 7-104, 8-121, 9-121, 10-131 (71.5 ov)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walter7   350--
Taylor2   111--
Stanley29   7605--

--> PN Lear made his debut in First-Class matches
--> WD Wallers made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> S O'Linn (1) passed 2000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 43
--> KMS Heldsinger (1) passed his previous highest score of 46 in First-Class matches
--> F Bing (1) passed his previous highest score of 13 in First-Class matches
--> S Stanley achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Western Province first innings (previous best was 2-89)
--> S Stanley achieved his first five wickets in an innings in First-Class matches in the Western Province first innings
--> HD Bromfield reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Transvaal second innings
--> S Stanley achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Western Province second innings (previous best was 5-112)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive