Western Province v Transvaal
SAB Currie Cup 1974/75 (Section A)
VenueNewlands, Cape Town on 1st, 2nd, 3rd January 1975 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWestern Province won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWestern Province won by 108 runs
PointsWestern Province 15 (Batting 3, Bowling 2); Transvaal 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3)
UmpiresKS Craig, K Kanjee
Close of play day 1Transvaal (1) ?/1 (de Vaal ?*, Rice ?*)
Close of play day 2Transvaal (1) 324/9 (Neilson 19*, van der Knaap 22*)

Western Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*EJ Barlow hit wkt b Kourie163  161 
MJ Nelc and b Rice46     
PN Kirstenlbw b Neilson11     
HM Ackermanb Neilson1     
A Bruynsc Kourie b Neilson0     
AP van Niekerklbw b Neilson0     
PD Swartc Irvine b Rice11     
+GP Pfuhlnot out37     
RET Morrislbw b Rice1     
DL Hobsonnot out54     
SA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)7
Total(8 wickets, declared, 108 overs)331
Fall of wickets:
1-130, 2-180, 3-182, 4-182, 5-190, 6-236, 7-238, 8-240
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watson12   1400--
Neilson20   7534--
Rice23   4543--
Kerr16   5440--
de Vaal21   3760--
van der Knaap9   1370--
Kourie7   2201--

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*+BL Irvinec Pfuhl b Swart5     
PD de Vaalc Pfuhl b Ackerman95     
CEB Ricec Pfuhl b Barlow36     
KA McKenziest Pfuhl b Ackerman47     
NG Featherstonelbw b Jones34     
GLG Watson hit wkt b Ackerman1     
SJ Cooklbw b Jones24     
AJ Kouriest Pfuhl b Hobson17     
WR Kerrc Bruyns b Barlow14     
DR Neilsonnot out19     
DS van der Knaapnot out23     
Extras(9 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(9 wickets, declared, 121 overs)325
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-86, 3-174, 4-195, 5-199, 6-246, 7-251, 8-281, 9-281
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones21   4512--
Swart23   4571--
Barlow17   5362--
Hobson30   7871--
Morris13   2410--
Ackerman15   3393--
van Niekerk2   040--

Western Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*EJ Barlowc Rice b van der Knaap42     
MJ Nelb Kerr15     
PN Kirstenc Irvine b Kerr14     
HM Ackermanb de Vaal76     
A Bruynsc Kourie b de Vaal4     
AP van Niekerknot out33     
PD Swartc and b de Vaal8     
+GP Pfuhlnot out10     
RET Morrisdid not bat      
DL Hobsondid not bat      
SA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(6 wickets, declared, 90 overs)207
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-73, 3-75, 4-93, 5-182, 6-194
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watson5   1110--
Neilson8   2150--
Rice3   160--
Kerr24   12402--
de Vaal20   6463--
van der Knaap19   5471--
Kourie9   4250--
Featherstone2   0120--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*+BL Irvinec Swart b Barlow15     
KA McKenzieb Barlow6     
CEB Ricec Jones b Hobson27     
NG Featherstonec Nel b Barlow28     
SJ Cookc Nel b Barlow7     
GLG Watsonc Swart b Barlow8     
PD de Vaalb Hobson1     
AJ Kourieb Hobson1     
WR Kerrb Hobson5     
DR Neilsonc Barlow b Hobson0     
DS van der Knaapnot out0     
Extras(2 b, 5 lb)7
Total(all out, 38.1 overs)105
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-23, 3-72, 4-86, 5-91, 6-94, 7-100, 8-100, 9-100, 10-105 (38.1 ov)
Western Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones8   3150--
Swart5   0110--
Barlow16   3455--

--> MJ Nel (1) equalled his previous highest score of 46 in First-Class matches
--> DL Hobson (1) passed his previous highest score of 38 in First-Class matches
--> PD de Vaal (1) passed his previous highest score of 89 in First-Class matches
--> NG Featherstone (1) passed 6500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 25
--> DS van der Knaap (1) passed his previous highest score of 19 in First-Class matches
--> AP van Niekerk (2) passed his previous highest score of 25 in First-Class matches
--> HM Ackerman achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Transvaal first innings (previous best was 2-18)
--> DL Hobson reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Transvaal first innings
--> PD de Vaal reached 100 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Western Province second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive